by Andreas Vonder, Lothar Kittstein, Ivo Briedis, Jens-Martin Eriksen

With FINLAND, an innovative experiment was created in 2011: four authors from four countries were introduced to a true family story in a joint working meeting. Everyone should write a piece about 20 minutes long based on this story. The authors agreed on who would make which character the focus of their play. In addition, the title was set. This was and remained the only meeting, the only conversation between the authors until the premiere of the play.

After they had given their texts on the agreed date, already translated into German, the rehearsals began, in the course of which Frank Heuel tried out different dramaturgies for the four texts. In the end, it turned out that every play needs its own space, its own theatrical language. The result of this experiment is an evening of theater in which multi-perspectivity is of great importance. The concept has worked.

Heuel shows the four pieces one after the other, obtaining a deeper and deeper entry into the events, and stages them with quasi-filmic techniques. The result is an evening of theater that is as haunting as it is innovative.
Cologne City Gazette

Objectively unspectacular, but dramatically on a level that not only gets under your skin, but is currently among the best of the independent scene in NRW.

The result is a fascinating montage and dismantling at the same time […] Disturbing and sometimes of absurd comedy […] There can be no winners in this evening, except the audience.”
General-Anzeiger Bonn

Learn more about FINLAND on the fringe ensemble website or watch our trailer .

At 6. and October 7, 2012 we show FINLAND in Valmiera, Latvia.

FINLAND is a production of fringe ensemble/phoenix5 in co-production with theaterimballsaal (Bonn) and Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster). FINLAND is supported by the Kunststiftung NRW, the City of Bonn, the City of Münster, the Ministry for Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sport of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Matrong Cultural Foundation.Andreas Vonder, Lothar Kittstein, Ivo Briedis, Jens-Martin Eriksen